2014: Voicing the Self

Over four weeks between 4 and 17 February 2014, OCLW hosted its prestigious annual series of Weinrebe Lectures on the subject of ‘Voicing the Self’.

You can listen to podcasts of the lectures by clicking through the links (If there is no link, then the decision was made to not record or podcast the lecture, either because of sound quality or because of permissions).

Tuesday 4 February 2014, 5.30-7pm, Leonard Wolfson Auditorium, Wolfson College:
Blake Morrison ‘“The Worst Thing I Ever Did”: Confession and the Contemporary Memoir.’

A Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and former Chair of the Poetry Book Society and Vice-Chair of PEN, Blake Morrison has written fiction, poetry, journalism, literary criticism and libretti, as well as adapting plays for the stage. His best-known works are probably his two memoirs, “And When Did You Last See Your Father?” and “Things My Mother Never Told Me.” Since 2003, Blake has been Professor of Creative and Life Writing at Goldsmiths College. He lives in south London.

Thursday 13 February 2014, 5.30-7pm, Leonard Wolfson Auditorium, Wolfson College:
Edward St Aubyn in conversation with Hermione Lee.

Edward St Aubyn was born in London in 1960. He was educated at Westminster school and Keble College, Oxford University. He is the author of seven novels of which ‘Mother’s Milk’ was shortlisted for the 2006 Man Booker Prize, won the 2007 Prix Femina Etranger and won the 2007 South Bank Show award on literature. His first novel, ‘Never Mind’ (1992) won the Betty Trask award. This novel, along with ‘Bad News’ (1992) and ‘Some Hope’ (1994) became a trilogy, now collectively published under the title ‘Some Hope’. His other fiction consists of ‘On the Edge’ (1998) which was shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize and A Clue to the Exit (2000).

Tuesday 18 February 2014, 5.30-7pm, Leonard Wolfson Auditorium, Wolfson College:
Richard Holmes, ‘The Biographer’s Other I.’

Holmes’s major works of Romantic biography include: Shelley: The Pursuit,which won the Somerset Maugham Award in 1974. Two volumes on Coleridge: Early Visions, which was awarded the 1989 Whitbread Book of the Year Prize (now the Costa Book Awards); and Darker Reflections, which won the Duff Cooper Prize and the Heinemann Award. Dr. Johnson and Mr. Savage, concerning the friendship between eighteenth-century British literary figures Samuel Johnson and Richard Savage, won the James Tait Black Prize. He is the author of bestselling book The Age of Wonder How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science, shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson Prize and winner of the Royal Society Prize for Science Books and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Nonfiction. He has written many other books including Falling Upwards, an uplifting account of the pioneering generation of balloon aeronauts, and several drama-documentaries for BBC Radio, most recently The Frankenstein Experiment (2002), and A Cloud in a Paper Bag (2007) about 18th century balloon mania.

Tuesday 25 February 2014, 5.30-7pm, Leonard Wolfson Auditorium, Wolfson College:
Marina Warner, ‘Hearing Voices, Travelling Back.’

Marina Warner was born in London in 1946, of an Italian mother and an English father who was a bookseller. After primary schools in Cairo and Brussels, she was educated in England at St Mary’s Convent, Ascot, and then read French and Italian as an undergraduate at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, of which she is now an Honorary Fellow.
She was elected a fellow of the British Academy in 2005, and was made a CBE for services to literature in 2008. She is President of the British Comparative Literature Association (BCLA) for the period 2010-2013 and was elected a two-year Fellow at All Souls College Oxford in 2013. She is currently a trustee of The National Portrait Gallery and patron of the Ted Hughes Society, Bloodaxe Books, Society for Story Telling, Hosking Houses Trust and The Longford Trust. She gave the BBC’s Reith Lectures in 1994.


Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: